Kickapoo District Association of Student Councils 41 <sup>st</sup> Annual District Convention	Saturday, March 5, 2016 8:30 AM-2:30 PM
Minutes	41st Annual KDASC District Convention
Secretary: Parker Francisco (James Leichty acting)	Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

- 1. Convention Secretary Karla Madden welcomed all in attendance to the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention.
- 2. CALL TO ORDER

The First General Session of the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention was called to order at 9:49 a.m. by President Sophie Christianson.

- 3. Vice President Noah Allen led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 4. ROLL CALL

Mahomet-Seymour: one (1) advisor, thirteen (13) students Oakwood: one (1) advisor, six (6) students Rantoul: two (2) advisors, nine (9) students Shiloh: one (1) advisor, fifteen (15) students St. Joseph- Ogden: one (1) advisor, twenty-two (22) students Tuscola: one (1) advisor, four (4) students Unity: two (2) advisors, thirty-three (33) students

- SECRETARY'S REPORT President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to suspend the reading of the minutes. MOVED: Ariel Flowers (Unity) SECOND: Sam Reiss (Unity) Motion Carried
- President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to accept the minutes as corrected. MOVED: Maureen Short (St. Joseph-Ogden) SECOND: Lauren Gherna (St. Joseph-Ogden) Motion Carried
- 7. TREASURER'S REPORT
  - -Total Income: \$5,026.18
  - -Total Expenditures: \$2,225.42
  - -Final Balance: \$12,373.73 (Before District Convention Income and Expenditures)

Member Schools			
(with payments sent from the IASC to the KDASC by 3/5/16)			
Arcola	Paxton-Buckley-Loda	St. Joseph-Ogden	
Champaign Central	Rantoul	Tuscola	
Oakwood	Shiloh	Unity	

#### Kickapoo District Association of Student Councils www.kdasc.org

- President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report. MOVED: Kyle Weise (Oakwood) SECOND: Lane Warren (Oakwood) Motion Carried
- HISTORIAN'S REPORT
   President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to accept the Historian's Report.
   MOVED: Morgan Day (Tuscola)
   SECOND: Rachel Mannen (Tuscola)
   Motion Carried
- 10. WEBMASTER'S REPORT -new URL: <u>www.kdasc.org</u> -all KDASC business is online and easily accessible
- President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to accept the Webmaster's Report. MOVED: Miranda Fairbanks (Unity) SECOND: Abby Warner (Unity) Motion Carried
- 12. Vice President Noah Allen introduced IASC State President Derek Lahey.
- 13. President Derek Lahey spoke to the KDASC.
  -IASC State Convention (May 5-7, 2016)
  -State Service Project (toothbrushes)
  -American Red Cross
- 14. President Sophie Christianson thanked President Derek Lahey and then opened the floor for nominations for the officer candidates.
- 15. Nominations for the Office of Virtual Historian (x3)*Closed*
- Nominations for the Office of State Liaison (x3) Closed
- 17. Nominations for the Office of Historian (x3)*Closed*
- Nominations for the Office of Treasurer (x3)
   Kyle Weise (Oakwood) nominated Lane Warren for the Office of Treasurer from the floor. Closed
- Nominations for the Office of Secretary (x3) Tianna Nickens (Rantoul) nominated Nicole Wolken for the Office of Secretary from the floor. *Closed*
- 20. Nominations for the Office of Vice President (x3) *Closed*

- 21. Nominations for the Office of President (x3) *Closed*
- 22. President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to recess for Credentials Committee interviews at 9:49 a.m.MOVED: Kyle Weise (Oakwood)

SECOND: Hadiya Gagroon (Oakwood) Motion Carried Jagroop

RECESS

23. President Sophie Christianson called the First General Session of the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention back to order at 10:24 a.m.

# 24. CANDIDATE SPEECHES

- Michael Longworth-State Liaison (Recommended)
- Rebecca Slezak-Historian (Recommended)
- Kira Brinkley-Virtual Historian (Recommended)
- Candidate from the floor Lane Warren-Treasurer (Recommended with Reservation)

Having prior knowledge of Lane Warren's intent to run from the floor, the KDASC Executive Board scheduled his Credentials Committee interview to take place before the convention began.

• Secretary-VACANT

The Credentials Committee rejected the application of Nicole Wolken due to insufficient paperwork.

- Mark Maddock-Vice President (Recommended)
- Krista Wenglarz-Vice President (Recommended)
- Libby Alt- President (Recommended)
- 25. President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to recess for fifteen (15) minutes at 10:46 a.m.
   MOVED: Jordan Harmon (Unity)
   SECOND: Audrey Hancock (Unity)
   Motion Carried

SCHOOL CAUCUS AND VOTING

- 26. President Sophie Christianson called the First General Session of the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention back to order at 11:08 a.m.
- 27. Faith Morris introduced Kimberly Harden, a Mills Breast Cancer Institute representative.
  -social worker in the Oncology Dept.
  -received forty-eight (48) blankets from the KDASC
- 28. President Sophie Christianson thanked Kimberly Harden for speaking at the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention.
- 29. Convention Secretary Karla Madden introduced the guest speaker Andrew Klein.

30. President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to adjourn the First General Session of the KDASC District Convention at 11:48 a.m.
 MOVED: Lexy Gustafson (Mahomet)
 SECOND: Madelyn Thrasher (Mahomet)
 Motion Carried

## LUNCH AND DISCUSSION GROUPS

- 31. The Second General Session of the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention was called to order at 1:51 p.m. by President Sophie Christianson.
- 32. VIRTUAL HISTORIAN'S REPORT
   President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to accept the Virtual Historian's Report.
   MOVED: Ariel Flowers (Unity)
   SECOND: Lane Warren (Oakwood)
   Motion Carried
- 33. President Sophie Christianson introduced Krista Wenglarz to give her speech for the Office of Secretary. Krista Wenglarz-Secretary (Recommended)
- 34. President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to recess for three (3) minutes at 2:10 p.m.
   MOVED: Briana Krustsinger (Unity)
   SECOND: Dawn Brown (Oakwood)
   Motion Carried
   SCHOOL CAUCUS AND VOTING
- 35. President Sophie Christianson called the Second General Session of the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention back to order at 2:14 p.m.
- 36. Historian Raine Zilewicz announced the Hall of Idea's winner: Mahomet-Seymour.
- 37. Convention Secretary Karla Madden presented certificates to the Honor Delegates of the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual KDASC District Convention.
- 38. No Constitutional Amendments were received by the KDASC Executive Board.
- 39. STATE LIAISON'S REPORT-video report (pre-recorded)-State Liaison Ashley Mattingly was unable to present her report in person.
- 40. President Sophie Christianson entertained a motion to accept the State Liaison's Report.
   MOVED: Kyle Weise (Oakwood)
   SECOND: Lane Warren (Oakwood)
   Motion Carried
- 41. President Sophie Christianson gave her Farewell Address.

## Kickapoo District Association of Student Councils www.kdasc.org

42. INSTALLATION OF NEW OFFICERS

State Liaison-Michael Longworth Historian-Rebecca Slezak Virtual Historian-Kira Brinkley Treasurer-Lane Warren Secretary-Krista Wenglarz Vice President-Mark Maddock President-Libby Alt

#### 43. ADJOURNMENT

President Libby Alt entertained a motion to adjourn the Second General Session of the KDASC District Convention at 2:30 p.m. **MOVED**: Sam Reiss (Unity) **SECOND**: Kyle Weise (Oakwood) *Motion Carried*